RORC Nachrichten 01.11.2017

PRESS RELEASE: 1 November 2017

2017 RORC Season’s Points Championship
Winners Announced

RORC Yacht of the Year
RORC Season’s Points Championship Winner

Lisa, First 44.7, Nick & Suzi Jones
(Skippered by Michael Boyd for all races except De Guingand Bowl)


The full list of 2017 winners can be found below or HERE

Over 500 boats took part in the 2017 RORC Season’s Points Championship, with teams flying the flags of 30 different nations from Canada to Russia and Chile to New Zealand. Well over 4,000 sailors took part, and whilst the majority of the races were in the English Channel, the Championship included the Atlantic Ocean, the Caribbean Sea, the Celtic Sea, the Mediterranean Sea and the North Sea. The 13-race series, which this year included the Rolex Fastnet Race, is truly international and it is the largest offshore series by participation, anywhere in the world. For the serious offshore sailor, winning the championship is a real challenge.

Lisa – Overall winner – 2017 RORC Season’s Points Championship
The overall winner of the 2017 RORC Season’s Points Championship is Nick & Suzi Jones‘ British First 44.7 Lisa, skippered by RORC Commodore Michael Boyd. The corinthian team retained the title from 2016; the only yacht to achieve the double since Piet Vroon’s Dutch Ker 46 Tonnerre de Breskens (2011-12). Gilles Fournier & Corinne Migraine’s J/133 Pintia was second overall and Thomas Kneen’s JPK 1080 Sunrise was third.

Lisa – 2017 RORC Yacht of the Year
Lisa has also been awarded the RORC Yacht of the Year, winning the Somerset Memorial Trophy for an outstanding racing achievement by a yacht owned or sailed by a RORC member, as voted for by the RORC Committee.

„This has been a tough season, winning the championship in a Fastnet year makes it even more of a challenge,“ commented Lisa’s Nick Jones. „Our goal was to defend our win in 2016 and to be awarded RORC Yacht of the Year is beyond our dreams. Michael (Boyd) has been an inspiration, especially to the young crew, whose energy and tenacity has been fundamental to our success. The youth sailors at the RORC are the future of offshore sailing and we will be using our contacts and experience to help them. Lisa will not be racing next year so it is great to finish the adventure on such a high. Next season, Suzi and I will spend our time with our children; Charlie, Freddie and Toby, teaching them the joys of sailing in Chichester Harbour.“

The impressive fleet for the RORC Season’s Points Championship is separated into six classes racing under IRC, a Class40 Division and a Multihull Class. Two outstanding results from this year’s Championship were in IRC Two Handed and IRC Four.

Bellino – IRC Two Handed & Mixed Two Handed
Rob Craigie’s racing Sun Fast 3600 Bellino with Deb Fish, was the winner of the IRC Two Handed Class. Racing in a fleet of 78 teams, Bellino fended off a strong challenge from Ian Hoddle’s Game On, and Ed Fishwick’s Redshift Reloaded.

„Game On and Redshift were always at our heels; we couldn’t relax at any moment, in any race,“ commented Craigie. „Whilst all three boats are Sun Fast 3600s, there are different keels and rigs, so we all have strengths and weaknesses in different conditions. Deb Fish has been my sailing partner all season. She is very good at the analysis, whilst I am the more experienced seaman, and in terms of boat speed, we are an equal match, so it is a great synergy.“

Foggy Dew – IRC Four
Noel Racine’s French JPK 10.10 Foggy Dew has been in scintillating form, securing the class win in IRC Four in a fleet of 116 boats, with two races to spare. Foggy Dew’s winning streak in the Championship dates back to 2013.

„Every year we have to start as new; we have changes to the crew and the competitors are different,“ commented Racine. „Winning is not about doing one thing well, it is about attention to detail. Preparing the boat, the sails and the equipment, and reacting to changes on the race course. In IRC Four, we race against all different types of boat, but I believe that Foggy Dew is a good all-round performer.“

The Annual Dinner and Prize Giving for the 2017 RORC Season’s Points Championship is a spectacular event where prize winners, competitors, crews, RORC members and guests will celebrate the achievements of 2017.

For further information go to:

Results can be found here:

Link to high res images:
or email:

Season’s Points Championship Class Trophies
Boat Name Boat Type Owner Trophy Name Awarded For
Lady Mariposa Ker 46 Lady Mariposa Racing Inc, PIC Daniel Hardy Europeans Cup IRC Zero
Ino XXX HH42 James Neville Trenchemer Cup IRC One
Pintia J/133 Gilles Fournier Emily Verger Plate IRC Two
Dream Pearls JPK 10.80 Arnaud Delamare and Eric Mordret Grenade Goblet IRC Three
Foggy Dew JPK 10.10 Noel Racine Cowland Trophy IRC Four
Bellino Sun Fast 3600 Rob Craigie (& Deborah Fish) Psipsina Trophy Two-Handed Class
Bellino Sun Fast 3600 Rob Craigie (& Deborah Fish) The Boyd Trophy Mixed Two-Handed Division
With Alacrity Sigma 38 Chris & Vanessa Choules Oldland Watts Aquadanca Trophy For the Sigma 38 with the highest Season’s Points
Jelenko J/109 Trevor Sainty J/109 RORC Trophy For the J/109 with the highest score from her best five points races including the Rolex Fastnet Race
Phaedo³ MOD 70 Lloyd Thornburg RORC Decanter Multihull
Campagne de France Class40 Halvard Mabire & Miranda Merron Concise Trophy Class40
Season’s Point Championship Trophies -IRC
Lisa First 44.7 Suzi & Nick Jones, (skippered by Michael Boyd for all races except De Guingand Bowl) Jazz Trophy IRC Overall
Neil Morton & Tom Needham First 44.7 Lisa Keith Ludlow Trophy Navigator of the IRC Overall Yacht
Lancelot II First 40 Sailing Logic David Fayle Memorial Cup Best Sailing School Yacht
Lisa First 44.7 Suzi & Nick Jones (skippered by Michael Boyd for all races except De Guingand Bowl) Serendip Trophy Best Series produced yacht
British Soldier X41 Army Sailing Association Haylock Cup Best British Service Yacht
Pintia J/133 Gilles Fournier Stradivarius Trophy Best Overseas Yacht
Pomeroy Swan Swan 44 Paul Kavanagh Arambalza Swan Cup Best Swan
Sunrise JPK 10.80 Thomas Kneen Alan Paul Trophy Consistent High Performance
Special Awards
Lisa First 44.7 Suzi & Nick Jones (skippered by Michael Boyd for all races except De Guingand Bowl) Somerset Memorial Trophy Yacht of the Year
Pintia J/133 Gilles Fournier Assuage Trophy for RORC Members RORC member Best IRC overall from Cherbourg + 3 from Cervantes, Morgan Cup, Myth of Malham and St Malo
Hooligan VII Ker 40 Ed Broadway Highwayman Cup Best Elapsed time of an IRC yacht in Cervantes, Morgan Cup, St Malo and Cherbourg
Tom Needham, Lisa First 44.7 Suzi & Nick Jones (skippered by Michael Boyd for all races except De Guingand Bowl) Duncan Munro Kerr Youth Challenge Trophy Between 15 & 25 on 1st Jan 2016 with most RORC miles in current season and yacht is in top three of class.
Ino XXX HH42 James Neville Peter Harrison Youth Trophy Highest points score from any 3 offshore Races where at least 33% of crew were under 25 on 1st Jan 2017
Hugo Boss IMOCA 60 Vendee Globe, Alex Thompson Dennis P Miller Memorial Trophy British Yacht Overseas
Conrad Colman, Vendee Globe Seamanship Trophy Outstanding act of seamanship. Jury rig finish in the 2017 Vendee Globe
Pomeroy Swan Swan 44 Paul Kavanagh Freddie Morgan Trophy Classic Yacht in IRC (defined as 1974 or earlier)
British SB20 Team at the 2017 Worlds Jerry Hill Meritorious Award Outstanding Keelboat Performance by a RORC Member
Kialoa II S & S 73 Classic #1713 Patrick Broughton Beken Trophy Concours d’Élegance in RORC Race